18 months

I had planned to do a 15 month update and then somehow life happened and the post didn’t! But here we are….18 months.  1.5 years old. Holy smokes.

We definitely have a toddler on our hands…physically she has changed so much in the last 6 months.  She has sprouted up and thinned out, her hair has gotten so long and she is running all over the place! Her little legs show the results of her tumbles and scaling of furniture;  I’m always amazed when I change her at night and realize she has a new scrape or bruise…”why did you not cry?” “how did I not notice you doing that!” She is so busy exploring her world they don’t seem to phase her.

Her ability to understand and process the world around her increases everyday.  She is able to follow directions (sometimes), throw a first class tantrum (practices daily), and can identify certain animals and everyday objects when we are out and about or reading.  She LOVES music and has the most wonderful set of dance skills…it isn’t quite up to the “ratcliff shuffle” standards but she will get there one day 🙂  She is currently obsessed with “Ring around the Posey” and spins in a circle while we sing.  She “makes us” sing it over and over until we go insane or she spins herself dizzy.  We don’t really let her watch a ton of TV but weekends we watch Mickey Mouse Clubhouse in the morning and we have recently found Backyardigans that she sometimes watches while eating her afternoon snack.  It’s so cute because she KNOWS what I mean when I ask if she wants to watch “Mickey” or “Backyardigans” and my question is always met  with an enthusiastic head nod and smile.

My sweet girl is very independent and stubborn.  These qualities sometimes result in a struggle of will and its in these times that I try to quelch my frustration and remember that these are amazing qualities that will serve her well as she grows. It’s the best reward to finally see her accomplish something she has been trying to do for so long…the look of achievement is in her eyes and the smile on her face is priceless.  Now, Ill be honest,  sometimes that achievement is something I would have rather her have not learned (i.e. climbing on the couch, climbing on the table, climbing in general) but beggars can’t be choosers 🙂

Currently meal time is a challenge.  Lila likes to prop her leg on the table during dinner….(where does she learn these things!) and when she is done she likes to swipe her food onto the ground….both of these things DRIVE. ME. CRAZY.  We re-direct and say “that is a no” about 5,000 times on a bad day but I am confident that this is a phase and I wont have a 5 year old swiping food and whining (please!).  Speaking of food, Lila is still a pretty good eater….she wants to try everything but doesn’t like as much as she used too…very much the typical toddler in the fact that one day she LOVES (insert any food item here) and hates it the next! Her favorite foods are still fruit of any kind and salty snacks like crackers.  We still try to offer her a variety and hope that she turns into foodies like us 🙂

This is the best "frog" picture we could get and it required lots of singing...she is clapping and saying "Yea!"

She is still short on words….there is lots of pointing and LOTS of whining (patience is a virtue and not something Lila or I are blessed with) to make up for her lack of verbal words.  We still use her 5-6 signs and her babbling has dramatically increased over the past month.  I have moments when I worry, but then realize that she definitely understands us and verbalization will come when she is ready….on her schedule 🙂

In the last 3 months she has started giving us kisses and hugs when we leave or she is going “night night”.  It is seriously the best thing and I am looking forward to the day she can return our “I love you’s”.

When I think back on the last 18 months the overwhelming feeling is one of wonder….She is such a joy and everyday I am reminded that I am so lucky to be her mom.  She is very much her own person but I see myself and Chris in her personality and ways.  She is shy for strangers but a ham for those closest.  She needs her own “wake-up” time and sometimes just needs to be alone.  She is cautious of new environments but curious from the comforts of our arms.  She is funny and expressive and down right persistent! Parenting her teaches me daily that I am still a work in progress.  And that’s okay.  I am looking forward to seeing her continue to blossom and hope that as she grows she knows she is loved beyond measure.

Much Love –

Christy

Leave a Reply

